Our Community

Together,  the residents of Sawyer County and the Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa create an environment of rich culture, economic success and welcoming inclusion. Discover why people who visit here – move here, to do business, to work and to play.

The sovereign nation of Anishinabe people. As well as the communities of: New Post and Reserve

Lac Courte Oreilles Tribal Governing Board Members

(Front L-R) Michelle Beaudin, (Secretary-Treasurer), Louis Taylor (Chairman), Lorraine Gouge (Vice-Chairman), (Back L-R) Tweed Shuman, Glenda Barber, Don Carley and Gary “Little Guy” Clause (Copyright © 2019 LCOTGB)

Sawyer County

Including the city of: Hayward The towns of: Bass Lake, Couderay, Draper, Edgewater, Hayward, Hunter, Lenroot, Meadowbrook, Meteor, Ojibwa, Radisson, Round Lake, Sand Lake, Spider Lake, Wiegor, Winter And the villages of: Couderay, Exeland, Radisson, Winter

default img
Sawyer County Board of Supervisors

Dale Schleeter, District 1Vice Chairman (Town of Lenroot Ward 1, Town of Hayward Ward 7, City of Hayward Wards 5 and 6) 

Kathy McCoy, District 2 (Town of Lenroot Ward 2, Town of Round Lake Ward 1)

Tweed Shuman, District 3Chairman (Town of Hayward Wards 1 and 2)

Troy Morgan, District 4 (Town of Hayward Wards 3 and 4)

James Schlender Jr., District 5 (Town of Hayward Wards 5 and 6)

Marc D. Helwig, District 6 (City of Hayward Wards 1 and 2)

Thomas W. Duffy, District 7 (City of Hayward Wards 3 and 4)

Bruce Paulsen, District 8 (Town of Bass Lake Wards 1 and 2)

Brian Bisonette, District 9 (Town of Bass Lake Wards 3 and 4)

Elaine Nyberg, District 10 (Town of Sand Lake, Town of Edgewater, Ward 1)

Jim Bassett, District 11 (Town of Edgewater Ward 2, Town of Bass Lake, Ward 5, Town of Hayward, Ward 8, Town of Meteor, Town of Couderay, Village of Couderay)

 , District 12, (Town of Spider Lake, Town of Round Lake, Ward 2, Town of Winter, Ward 1)

Ron Kinsley, District 13 (Town of Hunter, Town of Radisson, Ward 1, Town of Ojibwa, Ward 1, Village of Radisson)

Ronald Buckholtz, District 14 (Town of Radisson Ward 2, Town of Ojibwa Ward 2, Town of Meadowbrook, Town of Weirgor, Village of Exeland)

Helen Dennis, District 15 (Town of Winter Ward 2, Town of Draper, Village of Winter)

Why Here?

Business Friendly

Our governmental and community leaders know how to cut red tape to make it easier to start a business, as well as grow existing businesses. Streamlining permitting processes, coordinating for access to available facilities, and keeping funding at the forefront all make this the place that YOU want to be for economic success.

Sawyer County is a Certified

Sawyer County has taken the steps to reduce obstacles to broadband investment in our area. We are eager for broadband expansion and our streamlined permitting will expedite the process for new broadband developers. Interested? Contact Bruce at: info@sclcoedc.com

Family Friendly

Hospital, Clinics, Dental Facilities




Volunteers Everywhere!!

Sawyer County and Lac Courte Oreilles are hosts to world-class events throughout the year. Volunteers are critical to making these events go off without a hitch. Sometimes more than a thousand volunteers are deployed for one event! We also have several volunteer organizations in the community that aid with everything from crisis support, to search and rescue to pet rescue. If you want to be part of a community that knows how to take care of each other – this is the community for you! We all work together to get the job done.